.

New Georgia DUI Laws Take Effect

The new laws are intended to aid treatment and improve the quality of life for people arrested for DUI.

New DUI laws going into effect in the State of Georgia today will include expanded permits for first-time offenders and so-called "two in five" offenders, with the aim of improving treatment of people who drive drunk.

Senate Bill 236, which was signed into law by Gov. Nathan Deal on April 16, modifies Article 3, Chapter 5 of Title 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) as well as Article 7 of Chapter 8 of Title 42. These articles reference punishment for drivers arrested for DUI and govern ignition interlock devices, which prevent offenders from driving while drunk.

Starting today, first-time offenders over 21 years of age or so-called "first in five years" offenders will be eligible for an expanded hardship permit that will allow them to attend court, report to their probation officer, and perform community service. 

Additionally, drivers on this limited permit will be able to transport immediate family members without licenses to work, school or to receive medical services.

Prior to Jan. 1, drivers on such permits could only drive to work, school, the doctor, support group meetings and DUI school.

Drivers who have been arrested for DUI twice in the previous five years will see slightly more freedom in their limited permits and the reduction of their "hard suspension" times.

Starting on Jan. 1, these offenders will automatically serve a 120 day hard suspension of their driving priviliges, followed by permission to get a ignition interlock limited permit provided the offender can show proof of the following:

  • He or she has completed a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction program;
  • He or she has completed a clinical evaluation and enrolled in a substance abuse treatment program approved by the Department of Human Services or is enrolled in a drug court program;
  • He or she has installed an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that he or she will be operating; and
  • He or she obtains a certificate of eligibility for an ignition interlock limited driving permit or probationary license from the court that sentenced the person for the conviction that resulted in the suspension.

Drivers with this expanded permit will be restricted to driving to work, school, support meetings, and monthly meetings with the driver's ignition interlock service provider.

Karen January 06, 2013 at 05:34 PM
I still don't think the laws are tough enough, I do not feel sorry for the drunk driver at all. If they lose their job or home maybe that will teach them a lesson. They made that decision to get behind the wheel and drive. The truth is known that offenders are only caught after repeated times driving legally drunk. I have a neighbor who today still has problems because she was injured by a drunk driver years and years ago. If the consequences were made extremely hard on the offender, then perhaps there would be fewer of them on the road. I simply do not "get it" why people think they can drive that way.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something